Steps for the Individual Being Assessed


There are TWO distinct processes all PCSA caseworkers and PCSA supervisors are required to complete in CAPS LMS to comply with OAC Rule: 1) Completion of their assigned ITNA in conjunction with their supervisor, and 2) Creation of an individual development plan (IDP) with their supervisor�s input and approval. Instructions to complete both are included in this guide.


Individual Training Needs Assessments (ITNAs) � known as competency assessment tasks in CAPS LMS — are assigned every two years by ODJFS in CAPS LMS. You complete your assigned ITNA from your own perspective and your supervisor receives an assignment to provide their perspective on your learning needs. Once both perspectives are collected, you and your supervisor review and discuss the ITNA results and decide which recommended development actions are appropriate for you. You add those recommendations to the development plan to be created.

Once created, you add objectives to the plan for any key practice areas you identified as needs in the ITNA, adjust plan timeframes as needed, and submit the plan for your supervisor�s review and approval. The development plan guides your learning and is automatically updated as you complete learning interventions in CAPS LMS.


1. Completing the Individual Training Needs Assessment (ITNA)

2.  Reviewing Results with Your Supervisor

3.  Creating Your Resulting Development Plan

4.  Adding Key Practice Area Objectives and Finalizing Your Development Plan for Supervisor Approval

5.  Working with Your Active Development Plan(s)

7. Technical Assistance Options



To locate your assigned ITNA, select Scheduled Tasks from the Profile menu tab OR select the View Tasks tile on your Welcome Page:



























Select the title of your assigned ITNA:

NOTE: If you do not see an assigned ITNA on the screen pictured above and you are a PCSA caseworker or supervisor, contact

Review the task instructions and select Continue:

Select Begin to the far right of your ITNA:






Review the Rating Scale you will use throughout the assessment (shown at the top of the assessment):

Review and rate each of the behavioral indicators listed under the ten competencies:













[OPTIONAL] Add context to your ratings by entering notes in the Comments box beneath each competency. NOTE: Comments are visible to both you and your supervisor.

If needed, you can select Save & Return at the bottom to finish completing the assessment at another time. Otherwise, when finished rating all items, select Continue to proceed to the list of key-practice area questions:

The final part of the ITNA is a series of required questions to determine development needs in key practice areas. If the practice area is not a development need, type NO. If it is a development need, type YES along with a brief description of your development needs in that practice area: